September Goals

First, I’d like to recap how I did on my August goals.  If you remember, I created these goals on my Meal Planning post half way through August.

SO HOW DID I DO?
GOALS FOR THE REST OF AUGUST
  • Cut down on the grains I eat and buy gluten-free products. –
    • I did manage to cut down on grains for the week that I meal planned…not so much the last week of August.   I definitely didn’t try to purchase gluten-free products.
  • Consume at least one serving of fruit each day. 
    • I definitely didn’t consume at least one serving of fruit a day.
  • Juice one cup of fruits and veggies daily or make a smoothie. 
    • I only juiced twice and didn’t end up making any smoothies.  I have to say, freshly juiced OJ is AWESOME!
  • Buy smaller quantities of fresh produce, don’t waste it! 
    • Some products you just can’t buy smaller quantities of.  I ended up wasting blueberries, kale, and a cucumber.  But the amount of fresh produce I did use up greatly outweighs what was wasted!
  • Prepare snack-sized portions and meals ahead of time  (freezer meals for the days I want something quick). 
    • I cut up some broccoli and carrots and made dip for snacking.  That was all I made ahead of time.  No freezer meals.
  • Track my calories.  If I’m repeatedly coming up short on reaching 1200 calories a day, consider high calorie shakes. 
    • I did not track my calories.  Tracking calories of homemade meals is difficult!  BUT not impossible, so I should be doing this every day!
  • Half or even quarter recipes that I can’t freeze 
    • Easy!  (except for quartering an egg)
  • Limit myself to one piece of chocolate a day. 
    • On most days, there wasn’t even any chocolate in the house!
  • Don’t even buy ice cream! 
    • For the most part, there was no ice cream, except for the last week of August where I caved and bought a pint of Phish Food.  But considering one pint lasts me 4-5 days, I’d say that’s pretty good!
  • Start regularly taking the vitamins/supplements I’ve been “forgetting” to take (calcium, fiber, probiotics, melatonin, etc) 
    • I started taking melatonin and probiotics daily.  I took fiber one day but forgot about the rest.  Need to add them to drinks DAILY!
  • Get outside for at least 30 minutes each day (wear sunblock!) 
    • I didn’t go outside  for 30 minutes each day, nor did I wear sunblock.

Yeah, not so great.  I could definitely use some improvement for September!

I did try to make some frozen banana chocolate ice cream….it did not turn out, at all.  I bought cocoa powder based on a recipe and it was just plain disgusting.  I am going to try it with some Ovaltine to see if it is any better.

My husband and I went grocery shopping yesterday after I meal planned based on my soon-to-expire coupons and the store ad.  Out of the 47 items we bought, I think maybe 5 of them weren’t on sale or we didn’t have coupons for!  We ended up saving about $35!  We still spent over $120 so I’m no extreme couponer or anything.  I’ve never seen coupons for healthy food anyway.

SEPTEMBER GOALS
  • Meal plan every week!
  • Consume at least one serving of fruit each day.  Juicing and smoothies count!
  • Don’t waste any fresh produce!
  • Prepare snack-sized portions and (freezer) meals ahead of time.
  • Track my calories.
  • Limit myself to one piece of dark chocolate a day.
  • Limit myself to less than 1/2 cup of ice cream a day.
  • Start taking vitamins/supplements DAILY!
  • Take a 30 minute walk each day (wear sunblock!)
  • Create an #outwithstudentdebt video.
  • Meditate for 2 minutes a day.
  • Play a brain game at least once a day.  (Supposed to help with a  bad memory)
  • Get a job or start making income somehow!

I have two potential job interviews coming up within the next few weeks.  One is for a local house cleaning business and the other is at a library.  Wish me luck!

14 thoughts on “September Goals

  1. Great goals! So you have a hard time GETTING to 1200 calories?! Holy crap I consume sometimes 1700 calories a day easily, although I try to keep it around 1500…the operative word being try. Maybe try adding fresh fruit to your ice cream since you eat it ever day?

    • Based on my weight, height (really fricken short) and the fact that I don’t exercise yet, I should be consuming about 1226 calories to maintain my weight. I have limited jaw mobility so even small meals take forever for me to eat. I guess I should try adding some nuts and peanut butter to my snacks/smoothies to increase the calories!

  2. I absolutely LOVE ice cream, and have a lot of the same problems with getting in my fiber/nutrients. Adding a soluble fiber to my drinks have helped a lot, just make sure to add it to juice instead of water! 🙂

    Have you thought about adding a little extra olive oil to some of your meals? It’s an easy way to add some extra calories without adding bad fats to your meals.

    I like to make banana-chips as a substitute to ice cream. When they start to get smooshy I slice them up and stick them in the fridge. Then, when I’m craving a sweet treat I break off a chip or two and it’s awesome! Sometimes I add a couple chocolate chips so it’s more like chocolate chip ice cream. Have you thought about having other frozen fruits in the house? I really like partially thawed peaches 🙂

  3. Pingback: Happy Fiscal New Year! | Debt Perception

  4. Pingback: September Recap | Debt Perception

Leave a comment