27 Month Progress Update

PROGRESS UPDATE

Original Debt (December 14, 2012): $102,645

Current Debt (27 months later): $86,634

My debt has decreased by an overall reduction of $16,011 in 27 months. I’m now at 15.6% of my debt payoff goal.

DEBT BREAKDOWN

Federal Student Loans $59,923 $60,606 (An overall increase of $4,729 in 27 months)

Private Student Loans $27,039 $26,028 (An overall decrease of $15,063 in 27 months)

  • StudentLoan#2: $10,016 $9,057 (an overall decrease of $3,315 in 27 months)
  • StudentLoan#3: $17,023 $16,971 (an overall decrease of $1,288 in 27 months
  • StudentLoan#1: $0 
  • StudentLoan#4: $0

I’ve been slacking so far this year.  My mom came to visit for a month and I had a wonderful time.  After she left, I hit a major depression.  I haven’t worked much, haven’t been volunteering, and don’t have motivation to do much these days, especially after recently suffering from sudden hearing loss.  I’m now on two weeks of high-dose prednisone and am not a fan of the side effects at all.  I don’t know what I’m doing and I’m not myself these days.  Bear with me as I get back on track.

4 thoughts on “27 Month Progress Update

  1. Kasey! You’re doing so well on your debt repayment – keep up the hard work! I’m sorry to hear you’re not feeling like yourself. You’ve made such progress, you need to remember how far you’ve come. You’re capable of so much – just continue to believe in yourself and take it one step, one day at a time. I believe in you!!!

  2. I’m so sorry to hear about your health issues. Don’t be too hard on yourself. When I had all of those health problems between late 2013 and early 2014, a lot of my depression as caused by the concept that I had to be doing something – working, volunteering, housework, anything. Don’t do that to yourself. Allow yourself the time your body needs to heal and deal with the side effects of the medication. Be gentle to yourself. You’re doing just fine. ❤

  3. Hang in there, you’ve made great progress on your debt so far. Heath issues can really mess with your head but I would suggest you keep yourself busy and keep doing the things you love. These tough times will pass.

Leave a Reply

