2 YEARS! Progress Update

Debt Perception has been around for two years! Happy blogiversary to me! Let’s take a look at how I’ve done financially in the past two years!

Original Debt (December 14, 2012): $102,645

Current Debt (24 months later): $88,967 

My debt has decreased by $999 since last month. An overall reduction of $13,678 in 24 months. I’m now at 13.32% of my debt payoff goal.

DEBT BREAKDOWN

Federal Student Loans $59,690 $59,923 (up $233 since last month, an overall $4,023 increase over 24 months)

Private Student Loans $30,726 $29,044 (down $1,682 since last month, an overall decrease of $12,027 in 24 months)

  • StudentLoan#1: $2,842 $2,790 (down $52 since last month, an overall decrease of $4,370 in the past 24 months)
  • StudentLoan#2: $10,446 $9,273 (down $1,173 since last month, an overall decrease of $1,917 in 24 months)
  • StudentLoan#3: $16,987 $16,981 (down $6 since last month, an overall decrease of $1,259 in 24 months)
  • StudentLoan#4: $0 (Gone, baby, gone!)

usedtoowe

If you saw my previous post, Navient messed up my last payment allocation. I had planned on over $1,000 going towards my smallest loan, with the hopes of paying it off in January. They had applied my payment to StudentLoan#2 instead. I perused Navient’s Facebook page and found somewhere that I could complain to. They had called me while I was busy at work all day and I don’t answer numbers I don’t recognize, so I didn’t get the message until about 7pm. I guess they could have fixed the payment to be applied as intended but I had to call back by 5pm. I’m sure it was too late to fix it as they aren’t open on the weekend. Oh well!  It was still applied towards my loans and I’m a little bit closer towards the principal balance on StudentLoan#2.

I’m going to start taking screen captures of my allocations and monitor my Navient account after submitting payments to make sure they apply it accordingly!

8 thoughts on “2 YEARS! Progress Update

  1. 2 years of blogging! Congratulations! And congratulations on the big monthly decrease, too — $1000 gone (I think you should get to round up, as it’s your anniversary) — is nothing to sneeze at.

  2. Congrats on the big decrease this month and the two year anniversary! You’re making great progress so far. I started doing the same thing with FedLoan after I had issues with them, I always take a screenshot of the last page after I manually input the amount for each loan.

Leave a Reply

