7 Things You Probably Don’t Know About Me

I’ve seen this going around the blogosphere so I figured I’d join in on the fun.  Here’s 7 things you probably don’t know about me (unless you are family or a really close friend).shortgirl

1.  I’m short.  Ridiculously short.  4’9″ short.

Grocery shopping alone is always fun because it usually entails me climbing the shelves to reach something on the top shelf.  I’m not complaining about it, I actually think it’s kind of fun.  I always hated living in an apartment complex that had shared laundry rooms because this would always happen.  Let me tell you, it’s not exactly comfortable dangling from the top of the washing machine.

2.  I can still pass for a child.

The shortness helps, so does my child-like voice.  People often just assume I’m a teenager.  It’s been a few years since I’ve gotten a kids menu (without asking) though.  I’m turning 30 in the summer and have no problem with passing for a kid.  Though it does get kind of annoying when I go to a new doctor and they question me if I came alone…

3.  I have no sensation on the right side of my face.

Because of my brain tumor and radiation therapy, I have no sensation on the right side of my face.  This includes no sensation in my right nostril nor my eye.  It’s both a virtue and a vice.  The vice being frequent corneal abrasions.  The virtue being unable to feel pain in my eye (because I’ve heard abrasions hurt pretty bad).  I just recently had a procedure done to remove the top layer of skin on my right lower lid because I had eyelashes that would grow into my eye.  The idea is that scar tissue will form and prevent lashes from growing into my eye.  I imagine it would have been painful even with the numbing shots, but I felt nothing.  I also don’t have sensation in most of the right side of my mouth.  The line fades about half way between my lower teeth.  The nerve sensation on those teeth get to be pretty intense when I go to the dentist.

4.  I eat really slowly.

I have pretty severe TMJ. Radiation caused my jaw muscles to become scar tissue and my upper and lower jaws are misaligned.  Eating becomes pretty difficult with about a 10mm opening.  I can’t fit a blow pop in my mouth and I will never be able to bite into an apple without slicing it into pieces first.

5.  I have an irrational fear of things that pop.

Pillsbury rolls in the pressurized cans are among my biggest fears.  I also have trouble blowing up tires and my exercise ball remains flat because I can’t blow it up all the way.

6.  I’m content without having children.

My cats are my furbabies.  I’ve been around enough mothers and kids to know that I would probably go insane.  I don’t get enough sleep as it is, I don’t need a baby to make it worse.  Labor would probably be difficult for someone like me with such a small stature and I never EVER want another needle in my back again.  If it came to a C-Section, the thought of being awake while they cut you open far exceeds my fear of things that pop.  Also, toddlers are monsters. Check out that link for a new collaborative blog I’m working on with my best friend who has a little monster.

7.  I claim to be a chocoholic but it’s all in moderation.

I crave chocolate a lot.  I love fruit flavored dark chocolate, particularly of the raspberry variety.  Not the gel-filled type, but the one with raspberries mixed in.  I also like Lindt’s dark chocolate orange bar.  I also love chocolate ice cream, chocolate shakes, chocolate pudding, hot chocolate…you get the hint.  I usually have to have a little chocolate after every meal but I only need a little bit to satiate my cravings.  A chocolate bar is usually 1 or 2 servings and I make it into 4-6 servings.

Now it’s your turn!  I nominate anyone and everyone who hasn’t done it yet.  You should do it, even it if you just post to Facebook.

Is there anything on my list that you didn’t already know? Anything we have in common?

4 thoughts on “7 Things You Probably Don’t Know About Me

    • Haha. My husband likes to throw them at me…but they might as well be grenades! I have so much anxiety about opening them but it’s gotten better, I just have to bang them really hard against the edge of the counter.

Leave a Reply

