Don’t Cancel Christmas!

I’ve joined a lot of FREE or local yard sale groups on Facebook and I’ve seen an increasing number of people claiming they’re giving up and/or canceling Christmas because they can’t afford gifts for their family.

You don’t have to cancel Christmas!

Haven’t we learned this lesson from all the Christmas movies out there?  Spend time with your family, not spend money on your family!

My husband and I don’t really celebrate Christmas.  For more than two years we’ve gone without a tree and presents, until now.  My mom sent us this small tree with a bunch of dollar store ornaments.  I was forced into the Christmas spirit because I can’t say no to mom (and she won’t stop sending me Christmas decorations)!

tree

If I ever have kids Christmas will be much less about presents and more about spending time together.  I imagine volunteering, playing board/video games, cooking/baking, crafts, or watching movies.  While there will likely be some gifts, most will be homemade.

I’ve noticed over the years that my nieces tend to appreciate and take better care of gifts that are handmade.  Materialistic things wind up broken, lost, or forgotten within a few months so, in other words, a waste of money.  I’m not even sure I like the idea of lying to kids about Santa Clause.  Am I going to be the worst mother ever or what?!

What kind of traditions does your family have for the holidays?

Wishing my readers a very Merry Christmas!

Enjoy this holiday stop-motion animation I helped my employer, Jpixx, with (a wee bit) over the past few weeks!  Moving things about 1/2 – 3/4 of an inch per shot is kind of time consuming, much like my debt payoff journey!

8 thoughts on “Don’t Cancel Christmas!

  1. Wow, we work with NS a lot. The card looks great! So pretty and creative! Union Pacific did something similar on their 150 year anniversary, and it was pretty cool. I can’t imagine how much time it took to complete.

  2. Several Christmases have come and gone and there were times when one would come and go and the whole family is simply without a holiday budget. But never have we thought of postponing Christmas. You are so right about spending time with the family and not spending money. Our Christmas tradition is quite simple: be sure to be home on Christmas.

Leave a Reply

