November Recap

Based on my grading scale, I give our November budget a B-, at 80%. Novbudget

Fixed Expenses – Rent, pet rent, washer/dryer rental, and Netflix are the same every month.

Expected Expenses (Electric Bill, Cell Phones, Renter’s Insurance) – As expected.

Gas – With hubby out to sea for two weeks, I only spent $82 on gas.  That’s a lot better than the $120 we usually spend sharing the car.

Car Stuff –  Renewed our AAA membership, forgot to budget that in.

Prescriptions – I wasn’t on top of budgeting this month so I mistakenly put a purchase for antibiotics into the grocery costs and threw away the receipt, oops.

Medical Bills/Co-Payments – Used my credit card to gain rewards from paying a hefty medical bill, way over the $90 budget.

Groceries – $292 out of the $350 budget.  I think this is a bit high considering my husband was gone for two weeks this month.

Dining Out – Budgeted $25, spent $17.

Energy Drinks/Navy Cash – I’ve added hubby’s Navy Cash card to this category while he’s out to sea.  He can transfer money from our bank account to use to purchase drinks and snacks out of vending machines.  $179 out of the $100 budget.  I’m going to predict the future here and say we won’t be saving money while he’s on deployment…

Slush Funds, Electronics and Games – Hubby’s $49 over budget in games but well under budget for his slush fund.

Pet Expenses – Under budget.

Splurges & Miscellaneous Expenses – Nothing came up this month, just using any extra money to pay off hubby’s laptop purchase using the credit card!

I’m kind of disappointed how much money hubby is spending while he’s out to sea.  I’m sure items from the vending machines aren’t cheap and it’s nice to have more than just mess hall food but we probably could have saved a bunch of money and bought junk food for him before he left.  It’s hard to get ahead on the debt when spending habits don’t change!  I wanted to be out of credit card debt by the end of 2013.  That’s not happening any time soon!  It’s frustrating!

Did you over-spend at all in November?  How did you do overall on your budgeting?

NOVEMBER GOALS RECAP
  • Meal plan!  Aside from Thanksgiving dinner, FAIL!
  • Don’t waste fresh produce!  Considering I didn’t really buy much until the few days before Thanksgiving, PASS?
  • Prepare snack-sized portions and (freezer) meals ahead of time.  FAIL!
  • Meditate for 2 minutes each day.  FAIL!
  • Play a brain game at least once a day.  I made an effort, but definitely wasn’t once a day.  FAIL!

My goals for December will be the same as November, plus, I want to knock a few items of my goals for 2013.

8 thoughts on “November Recap

  1. Just think of the frustrations as propellers to work on budgeting better the next time. After all, it was not a complete failure. As long as we are willing to continue doing our best, things will get better. Only when we stop trying do things get worse so stay positive. 🙂

  2. Woohoo! I am now completely caught up with Dept Perception (I’m one of those people who has to read from the beginning). I have made my first monthly budget for December and can’t wait to see how it goes! I love that you have been assigning grades to your monthly budgets, it helps to show that people aren’t perfect!

  3. I think you did great. I if I was “out to sea” away from my family I’d probably want some of the comforts (candies) of home :-)We were with our November budget (but I didn’t get to save as much as I’d hoped). I put our trip to Mexico on my Visa so that we’d get the points for it (I had the cash in my checking account to pay for the trip when the bill came). I was going to take the money out of savings and then put it back, but that just felt weird and I didn’t want to touch the savings so I didn’t. That meant I didn’t save much this month, but that’s OK. It’s a once in a lifetime type trip so I’m OK with that.

    • $300 worth of comforts (candies) of home in 3 weeks? 🙂 I like using our credit card for every day purchases. I’m trying to rack up enough points to fly my mom out here for free when my husband goes on deployment. It just sucks my husband used the card to buy his expensive laptop.

Leave a Reply

