Wishful Wednesday

It’s Wishful Wednesday!  No advancements on my wish granting opportunities.  Still waiting for Make-A-Wish to approve/plan the wishes.

I want to share with you today a video of a kid who wished to be BatKid.  If you haven’t seen it in the news already, Google it, it’s all over!  The whole city of San Francisco came together to transform into Gotham City and made one epic wish come true for Miles.  It always gives me goosebumps to see just how many people are involved and volunteer their time or services to make the wish of these awesome kids come true!  Read more about the details of Mile’s wish here.

If you could be a superhero, who would you choose to be?  Or if you don’t want to be a particular superhero, what would your super power of choice be?

I can’t think of too many female superheroes so I’m going to say I want the power of either super hearing or invisibility.  I’d want super hearing because I am sick of being hard of hearing.  As for invisibility, people stare at me all the time when I go out in public.  I’m a brain tumor survivor and I may look a little weird but nothing grinds my gears more than those annoying gawkers.  Sometimes, it’d just be nice to go about my business without having to deal with stupid people.

I WISH

I will be getting hearing aids for both  of my ears within the next few weeks!  Through a network provider, my insurance will cover them 85%.  I’m looking at a $600 copay for two hearing aids, as compared to $1500+ for just the one at the out-of-network provider I saw previously!  My wish is that hearing aid technology has greatly advanced in the past 10-15 years.  I had hearing aids when I was kid and didn’t like how much background noise they picked up.  I also hated how loud they screeched when my hand came within a few inches of the device.  Looking forward to being able to hear and watch movies without subtitles!

Oh, if you’re wondering, this is basically what watching movies and tv shows are like for me without subtitles:

What are you currently wishing for?

7 thoughts on “Wishful Wednesday

  1. I loved that Batkid story! It was so amazing! I am glad you are going to get hearing aids. Yeah! I am wishing to get through this week and next. I’m going to SF for Thanksgiving!

      • No I don’t. My parents usually come up from LA, but I just saw my mom so she isn’t coming. It’s sort of a tradition for us, so now it’s just an adventure.

  2. My 99-year old grandfather just received some new hearing aids within the last several years and they have done wonders for his communication skills. Hopefully you will find the technology has advanced to a point that brings some pleasure back into your life. Would love to know how that goes.

    • 99 years old, that alone is amazing! I can’t wait to actually be able to get through a conversation without needing people to repeat what they said (or pretending I heard what someone said). I’ll definitely post an update about my experience with them, stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

