No Longer a Jobless Wonder

It’s been a BUSY week.  Lots of news!

GOOD NEWS FIRST

Last week I had a 3 day trial period for a job as a baby sitter/personal assistant/organizer for a family who runs a small business from their home.  They’ve decided they’d like to continue working with me, hooray! Their Craigslist ad never mentioned what type of business they ran and it just so happens it’s a video production/design/editing/photography company.  Without knowing this, they gravitated towards me because of my background in animation.  There’s potential for growth there!  That degree might actually do something for me after all!  The stars have aligned!  I’ve really enjoyed working with them the few days I’ve been in, and look forward to working with them more in the future.

So I’m no longer jobless and I have not one job, but TWO!

I had an interview Monday morning for a local house cleaning business.  I was basically hired at the interview.  I guess my correspondence with her leading up to the interview was enough.  It also helped to have experience in maintenance cleaning…easy transition to house cleaning, minimal training required.

Both are part-time, 10-15 hours a week to start. The house cleaning is in the morning, the personal assistant work is usually in the afternoon but they’re flexible with my schedule.  It’s amazing how things end up working out!  It took long enough!

BAD NEWS

Hubby is leaving for about an 8 month deployment sometime in December.  It’s kind of sudden.  There’s a lot that he needs to do before he leaves.  I’m slowly making new friends out here and with the new jobs, I think I’ll end up sticking around even after our lease ends in April.  I guess it’s good that I’ll be keeping busy between two jobs, volunteering at the shelter and with Make-A-Wish, plus continually trying to make some sort of side income, to help fill the void of him being gone for so long.

While I’m feeling a bit tired and warn out from a crazy-busy week, I’m happy.  I like keeping busy.  I’m more productive and less likely to procrastinate.  It will seriously be easier for me to get into a routine and form better eating habits, I’ve been struggling with those for months now.  Facebook and endless streaming videos on Netflix will no longer be a big time suck.

TRYING SOMETHING NEW

As I’m writing this post I’m eating my first ever attempt at making an egg mcmuffin in the microwave and I thought I’d share the end product…

mcmuffin

Go ahead and laugh, I did!  The bottom of that cup was the same size as an english muffin so I thought it’d work.  Nope.  Using a bowl next time!  It’s at least edible but maybe a little over-cooked, and lacking meat.

What’s new with you?

 

30 thoughts on “No Longer a Jobless Wonder

  1. Woot! Many congrats! The first job definitely sounds like it may have room for growth, so here’s to wishing for the best! Sucks that hubby will be away for so long. Best wishes to him as well as he prepares to embark on that journey. Not sure what to think about the cup. Is that the whole sandwich in it? Looks mighty odd! But hey, the oddest looking food can turn out to be quite tasty. Nothing new with me. Just plodding through!

  2. That’s awesome, congrats on finding both of your jobs! It’s great that your hard work of searching for jobs has finally paid off and not just one but two. That extra income should go a long way when it comes to paying back your loans. Sorry to hear your husband is going to be away for so long 😦

    Maybe if you squish down on the sandwich enough the egg will take the shape of of the english muffin? Haha

    • Haha, I totally tried that. It’s kind of rubbery and bounces back into that shape 🙂 Thanks! It took long enough for all that hard work to finally pay off! 🙂 I can’t wait to throw more money at my debt!

  3. Awesome! Congrats! I’m sorry your husband is getting deployed. Mine was stop lossed in 2005 and spent a year in Iraq. Staying busy really helped me and it sounds like you will be super busy, too.

      • He was only deployed once to Iraq but he also spent a year in Korea when we were dating. Thank you for being a military wife. Its definitely not easy.

  4. Really good news (except for the deployment news). Happy to see you’re doing well and so many new opportunities are opening up. Keep up the great work 😉

    • Thanks! I’m sure keeping busy will help a lot. I’m used to spending my days glued to my computer but yesterday I didn’t even turn the computer on! Busy, busy! But it feels good and I finally sleep great! 🙂

    • Thank you Jen! I actually just scored myself an interview at a trampoline park that will be opening up in the next few months. I think that job would be so much fun. I’m pretty sure I can handle three part-time jobs. 🙂

  5. Yay – and now the trampoline park possibility! All of these jobs, including your volunteering ones have potential! And they definitely sound really good for your health, exercise and activity level. And your have a little fun everyday level. Science keeps confirming different things about how bad it is for us to be hunched over a computer all day/night. I’ve recently begun to realize that my lack of attaining that type of job may be a blessing in disguise. It is so cool that you are insured through hubby so you can put together some different jobs and see what works best! And so cool you don’t have to work at McD’s and then get FIRED when they see your egg mcmuffins! lol! 😀 Seriously, here is my egg mcmuffin recipe that is almost as fast a nuking the egg : cast iron skillet kept nice and nonstick, so I can fry or scramble an egg in a little butter in about three minutes while making the toast and coffee , and then pile it on the toast or muffin with precooked packaged bacon (heated in the skillet) cheese or the healthier tomato, spinach, arugula or kale – or whatever omelette ingredients you like, actually, a dash of salt pepper and hot sauce and voila – a MUCH TASTIER egg mcmuffin that stays hot to go really well if you wrap it in foil right away. You’ll need this now that you’re a working girl! 😀 Alice Clark

    • lol @ the mcmuffin crack! 🙂 Thanks for the recipe, Alice! I really hope I get this trampoline park job as well. It’ll definitely be really good for the exercise. 🙂 They don’t open for a couple months yet so it’ll give me time to get acclimated to working the other two. It’s been over 2 years since I’ve had a job and I don’t want to overdo it right away.

  6. Stop after 15 sec and stir the egg. Microwave 15 secs at a time, stirring. Let it sit when it is almost done. If you put it in a bowl, cover with a saucer. Quite frankly, it is easier to scramble an egg in a six-inch cast iron skillet. Clean up is easier, too. Cook the egg in butter or bacon grease with 1/8 tsp salt.

Leave a Reply

