Tuesday Thoughts

I watched this Ted Talks video recently and at 17 minutes in, these words really left a profound impact on me.

This video is supposed to take you to 17 minutes in but it keeps jumping ahead for me.  The part I want you to hear is 17:00 minutes to 17:36.

For those unable to watch, she says, "We make everything that's uncertain certain.  Religion has gone from I believe in faith and mystery to certainty.  I'm right.  You're wrong.  Shut up.  That's it.  Just certain.  The more afraid we are, the more vulnerable we are, the more afraid we are.  This is what politics looks like today.  There's no discourse anymore.  There's no conversation.  There's just blame.  You know how blame is described in the research?  A way to discharge pain and discomfort."

Hate.  Blame.  Certainty.  Vulnerability.  It’s because people are so certain about their side of politics or religion that we are divided and debates quickly lead to arguments.  “I’m right.  You’re wrong.  Shut up.”

I see it every day.  I have to look no further than Facebook.  🙂

It’s on Facebook that I see the Obama haters growing in numbers.  Posting a lot of hate, a lot of blame.

I’ve seen them blame Obama for the shutdown.
I’ve seen them blame Obama for the division between the Republicans/Democrats.
I’ve seen them blame Obama for being the cause of racism.
I’ve seen people claim to know Obama’s intentions, which are to divide this country.
And this morning, I saw this:

Until the people are ready to stand up fight back denounce satan and embrace God and Jesus Christ this country will continue in a downward spiral with or without Obama he is a catalyst, he is a warrior for satan.

Obama is a warrior for satan?  That one honestly made me laugh out loud.

Hilarity aside, most of these people are religious folk, so why focus on the hatred of one man when it was many not doing their jobs that resulted in the shutdown?  Is hatred and blame what your religion was founded on?

I think a lot of it has to do with gullible people who believe everything they read, hear, and see on the news and across the internet.  Republicans are also doing a pretty good job of using Obama as a scapegoat, despite talking about a government shutdown since they held the house majority in 2011.  Check out this great Rachel Maddow video for more info on that topic.

How did we get here?  Grayson at Debt Roundup wrote a great post about the topic.  I agree wholeheartedly with everything he has to say.  Give it a read because I’m not going to write up a big, long post about the same topic when everything he has to say is spot on.  🙂

Basically, we need more open-minded individuals in congress, leading this country and representing truly, we the people.

And for some cheesiness:
All I want to say is that they don’t really care about us.  It’s really time we stop waiting on the world to change.  Where is the love?  Imagine all the people living life in peace.    🙂

One thought on “Tuesday Thoughts

  1. Pingback: The Weekly Debt Roundup Digest - Shutdown Edition | Debt RoundUp

Leave a Reply

