Wishful Wednesdays

As soon as an opportunity in my area arises, I will begin volunteering for Make-A-Wish as a wish granter and I’d love to share my experience with my readers.  I haven’t done any day of the week blog themes yet but I’m going to give Wishful Wednesdays a go.  Even if there isn’t volunteering to talk about I certainly have a lot of wishes and dreams I can write about!

I figured I’d start out my first Wishful Wednesday with sharing my own wish experience with Make-A-Wish.

For those of you who are new to my blog, I had a brain tumor when I was 9.  I was still a sickly child, and as ever indecisive as I am now, when I was pressured to make my wish before time passed me by.  I really wanted to go to Disney World knowing that it would be the only time in my life I’d get to go.  But my siblings were older and I knew that was something they’d probably get bored with easily.  Ultimately, Disney World was my wish.

EeyoreDonaldPluto

Even at a young age, I loved to draw, especially Mickey Mouse.  Disney World was only fitting!

drawing

Disney World was generally enjoyable.  I got a pin that brought me and my family up to the front of lines. Unfortunately I wasn’t really healthy enough for any roller coasters or water rides.  I also don’t have a very good memory so most of my experiences there, outside of the pictures I have, I don’t recall.

I do recall one instance of sitting down to eat and an aspiring artist approached our table and drew me this.

artistdrawing08072013_0000It was that moment, paired with being at Disney World, that inspired me to want to pursue a career in art and animation, even at the young age of 10!

For long time readers, you know the vast majority of my debt stems from my student loans getting that animation degree.  For years, I’ve tied my creativity to this debt and lost the passion.  I could be cold and blame Make-A-Wish for pressuring me to choose a wish that would ultimately cost me a lifetime of debt…but I’m not going to do that.  Make-A-Wish is a wonderful organization.

In 2009 I had the opportunity to attend the Wisconsin chapter’s 25th anniversary celebration at a Brewer’s game.  That link is to a Make-A-Wish pdf document, check out page 4, the bottom left of that page talks more about me as a past wish kid.  In the group picture I’m the one standing behind the kids in red and white hats on the left side.
I was supposed to talk about my wish in front of a crowd and mention Mickey Mouse because they were going to surprise the kiddos with various Disney characters in costume.  The mic was broken and I guess I’m fortunate no one heard me because I totally forgot to mention Mickey Mouse when the radio guy asked me what Disney characters I saw at Disney World.

While I may not be a success story for Make-A-Wish, they did feature me in their 2010 national calendar.

calendar

“I’m a wish kid with a future.”  This definitely isn’t the future I planned for but there’s still many years ahead of me.  I’m definitely gaining momentum in getting back into art by not allowing debt to consume my passion.  Maybe I’ll be successful one day.  And by successful, I don’t mean working for Disney.  That wish is long gone.  As long as I can make a decent income doing something I love, I can consider that successful.

11 thoughts on “Wishful Wednesdays

  1. MAW seems like such a great organization. I cry anytime I read the stories where someone’s wish is fulfilled. If I had a wish I hope that you eventually find work that aligns with your passion!

  2. I think you are a success, you just have to re-define it. You are working towards your goals, towards your debt payoff, etc. I completely understand about how debt can be tied to creativity, then kill it. My degree is in a creative/theoretical field, and in some ways I feel stifled, resentful and dissatisfied. Not good, but I am getting better every day! I love your honesty and your strength to get through the hard times you’ve been dealt!

  3. Wishful Wednesdays sound like a great weekly blog theme 🙂 I hope a spot opens up for you to volunteer at MAW because I can’t think of a better person who could really make a difference there! 🙂

  4. How fun that you were here in Milwaukee for a Brewers game! Too bad you couldn’t be here when they were playing WELL (which wouldn’t be THIS YEAR at all!). I can totally understand the draw to animation. If I had gone to Disney as a kid I may have pursued that as well. I went for the first time last year & it really is magical. You will be successful no matter where you work or what you do, I’m so proud of you 🙂

  5. Pingback: Wishful Wednesday | Debt Perception

Leave a Reply

