Budgeting Day 4 Update

Everything seems to being going well so far with the budget.  Rent and bills due through the 15th have been paid.  Hubby has spent $31 on energy drinks so far this month but he still has 6 unopened cans in the fridge.  I’m not sure they’ll last through the weekend.

We still haven’t talked budget in terms of how much money we’re throwing at the credit card this month.  I tried to get him to go out and do something today, just to get out of the house.  I especially wanted to go car shopping but I ended up angry and frustrated with him.  He doesn’t want to do anything except be at his computer all day.  He wants me to find a car online before we go anywhere.  I have to do all the work, yet, he won’t take the time to even look at the cars I do find.  I’m getting nowhere with this so I’m done.  If he wants to get to work after June 30th, he better put in more effort!

grapefruitMEAL PLANNING

I meal planned for the week.  So far, aside from grapefruit for breakfast (not meant to be my entire breakfast) and two salads, I haven’t stuck with the plan at all.

The juicer is still packed away and I need to wash it.

I haven’t made one smoothie and just got around to washing the blender out yesterday.

Half the oranges were moldy and thrown out.  I really need to acquire some baskets to store the apples and oranges.

MEATLOAF

I did manage to make some yummy meatloaf last night (which actually wasn’t planned until today).   My brown sugar turkey meatloaf was inspired by both this recipe, and this one.

My brown sugar turkey meatloaf recipe:

Pack 1/2 c. brown sugar into the bottom of a loaf pan.  Spread 1/2 c. ketchup on top.
In a separate bowl, combine 1.5 lbs ground turkey (or beef), 1/2 c milk, 2 eggs, 3/4 c bread crumbs, 1.5 tsp salt, 1/4 tsp ground pepper (and any of the other ingredients from the two recipes I left out).
Form into the shape of a loaf and place on top ketchup/brown sugar in loaf pan.
Bake at 350 for 1 hour.

IMAG0383

I really love the mixture of brown sugar and ketchup.  I skipped out on some of the ingredients in the recipes I used as a guide but  I did use bread crumbs, so it’s not completely grain-free as I was planning for the week, oops!

KASEY’S SLUSH FUND

I allotted $50 for me to spend on myself each month.  I’m so used to buying only necessities for myself that I’m finding it extremely difficult to want to spend money on me at all.  I’m really wanting to get this $10 deal on a set of 5 stainless steel mixing/storage bowls but I’m having the hardest time committing.  It’s $15 with shipping.  It’d be nice to have but it’s not absolutely necessary.  But this is money I’m supposed to spend on me, so why can’t I justify purchasing this deal?  Aside from getting my hair trimmed, I don’t have any other purchases lined up to spend on myself.

I’m like the complete opposite of a shopaholic.  I was very excited when I originally saw the deal, me want! But then I thought about spending money and my brain automatically started thinking, do you really need it?  Shut up brain!  This is fun money to spend on myself!  I still don’t know if I’ll actually buy it.  I should…

Update:  I did some research and found I could get two sets of 5 stainless steel storage bowls for $13.99 with free shipping with my Amazon Prime membership.  Ultimately, I decided against it based on some of the reviews I read online.  Maybe my instincts were what was holding me back from making that purchase?  I guess I have to go with my gut!

8 thoughts on “Budgeting Day 4 Update

  1. Good luck with the budgeting! I like budgeting, I find it fun. My boyfriend and I have been keeping track of what we spend for a year now and soon we will sit down and reevaluate what we’ve allocated for certain categories. For ex. we had budgeted $400 a month for food but it turns out we’ve been spending an average of $506 so that category will likely increase.

    That meatloaf recipe sounds good. I will have to try it, although on a night when my boyfriend is not home, he tends not to like dinners that have ingredients like brown sugar in them

    • Aww, I love brown sugar! My husband doesn’t usually eat what I cook, especially ground meat. He wanted to make sure it was fully cooked so I put it an extra 20 minutes and the outside started to burn…and now I’ll probably have to finish the whole loaf myself. Not complaining 🙂

  2. Hey Kasey!
    Your brown sugar meatloaf sounds awesome! Nicely done, buddy. On the topic of high maintenance husbands, I think you have the right idea of taking a break from talking about the car. Giving yourself a some time off will be great for your sanity (and probably his life expectancy 😉 ).
    On the spending money front, I imagine learning how to spend money is a lot like learning how not to spend it, it takes practice. You’ve carved out money dedicated to spending on yourself – its an awesome step in the right direction.

  3. Oh – husbands. Mine is NOT glued to the computer (he doesn’t “do” the computer, I guess I should consider myself lucky) but he IS glued to the tv. And that’s about all he does. Sigh … I’m with you on the spending … I find it hard to spend ANYTHING on myself. My splurge each week is a 12 pack of Diet Dew.

    • Husbands! I guess I splurge on chocolate, I’m a chocoholic but that’s part of the grocery budget. I don’t spend nearly as much on it as my husband does his energy drinks!

  4. I think it’s definitely important to allow yourself some small splurges from time to time as long as they fit in the budget–learning how to spend as well as save and pay down debt is all part of being more financially well-rounded. Great work with your budgeting so far! 🙂

Leave a Reply

