Meet the New Apartment

We signed the lease to our new apartment on Monday!  I love it!  First thing hubby said when he saw it was, “We need to get a better vacuum.”  LOL, I have an upright but it’s pretty old.  It’d be nice to get a newer one, perhaps one geared towards pet hair removal?

The leasing office gave us a welcome package!  I’ve never had an apartment do that before!

IMAG0260This bag has everything!  A bar of Lever 2000 soap, a box of Kleenex, a travel first aid kit, travel tide detergent, a small bottle of Palmolive Pure & Clear dish soap, a small container of advil, a bag of cheetos, a magnet, a bag clip, granola bar, peanut butter crackers, oreos, fruit snacks, local pizzeria insert, bottle of water, a neat folding travel toothbrush and I think that’s about it.

Our new apartment is huge and it will probably be pretty empty for a while.  Hopefully we will be able to get some furniture to fill it some day!

I love that we have stairs inside our apartment.  We also have a doorbell, a peep hole, and an alarm system! Below, the second image is of our living room, taken from the dining area.  The railing was taken down to make moving in easier.  The third image is of a storage closet.  It’s about the size of a twin sized bed.  The images don’t seem to be cooperating, otherwise they’d be displayed nicer.

IMAG0244

Our front door

IMAG0245

Living room

IMAG0246

HUGE storage closet

IMAG0248IMAG0249IMAG0252

Above: Full bath, master bedroom (closet and half bath to the left), kitchen

Below: Nook in kitchen, the other side of kitchen, laundry/utility room

IMAG0253 IMAG0254IMAG0255

Everything seems to be working well so far.  I washed a load of clothes today, a large load, and they were dry within 60 minutes!  It appears though that I don’t have a low heat option for the dryer.  I will probably have to hang dry delicates or things that say dry on low.

The dishwasher looked a little rusty on the inside so I washed just a bowl with some vinegar/water in hopes of getting it a little cleaner.  When it was through, there were food particles in the bowl as well as on the door of the dishwasher.  Maintenance is going to look at it.  The filter or whatever probably just needs to be cleaned out.

IMAG0257 IMAG0350

I can’t open a few of the windows, I’m probably just too weak.  Some of the screens are bent or broken with significant gaps.  There was a stink bug in one of the windows.  Nothing too major but hopefully maintenance will replace the bent screens.

IMAG0262 IMAG0329 IMAG0342

The bedroom doors do not latch closed and cannot be locked.  The locking part is not so important, but it might be nice to actually be able to close my cats into a room should they ever need to spray for pests.

I have to fill out an inspection form so hopefully they’ll send maintenance to fix the few minor issues.

No mold!  The cabinets underneath the sinks are clean!  Hallelujah!

We’ll be moving in completely this weekend!  I can’t wait to get out of our current apartment!

CAR UPDATE

It took four hours for them to fully diagnose what was wrong with my car.  There is a leak in the transmission fluid line.  They filled it up and it was running smoothly again but it’s already starting to jerk forward.  The transmission probably isn’t completely shot but it would still cost a couple hundred to fix the leak.  They couldn’t give me an estimate, said I needed to take it to a transmission place.  I could just stock up on transmission fluid but he recommended I take it to a car place to have them fill it as overfilling can cause troubles.

Unfortunately my sub frame is excessively rusted.  It will not pass inspection again at the end of June.  They said it would probably cost over $1000.  Sorry car, you’re not worth that much!

My husband has Friday off so we’re probably going to see if Navy Federal Credit Union will give him a used auto loan.  He’s very reluctant to go to any local dealerships to finance a car.  Hopefully we’ll find a decent car on Craigslist.

I forgot about my husband’s tax return.  He’ll be getting about $1000 back.  He suggested we put that towards the credit card we used to go to California but now I’m wondering if we should use it as a down payment if he’s not approved for an auto loan?

17 thoughts on “Meet the New Apartment

  1. Yes! This apartment should be so good for your spirits– both of you.. Congratulations.

    Now watch the temptation to fill,it up with goodies ( Been there, done that).

    • Thanks! Luckily we aren’t planning a wedding or any other expensive occasions right now. My husband’s debt is just about paid off and though it would be nice to use those monthly payments for savings, we’d be able to afford to finance a car.

  2. It looks great! I hope it helps you feel happier and healthier. Yay for no mold, and no water damage under the sinks! I’ve been there too. The first house we rented, looking back on it, was more of a falling-apart shack than a house. Lots of stories from our 3 years there… like when a real live cat actually fell through the ceiling onto our living room floor! Yep, true story. Hope they figure out the dishwasher. I despise finding food particles on “clean” dishes… I am one of those weird folks who sort of washes the dishes before loading them into the dishwasher 🙂 I’ve never done this before, but if you ever need to keep the bedroom door closed, perhaps you could put one of those Command stick-on hooks on a wall near the door, twist a rubberband around the doorknob and then over to the hook to hold it closed. Although, it probably wouldn’t be too hard for maintenance to fix the latch area of the door. Anyway, hope the pros outweigh the cons in your new digs!

    • Haha, that’s kind of crazy about the cat falling through the ceiling! What a story! I am so happy to be here. It’s safe and clean. Maintenance did fix the door latches and the screens, but great thinking! I ran another load of vinegar in a bowl through the dishwasher and there was still rice pieces and other food particles in the bowl and on the floor of the dishwasher, but not as bad as the first time. I’m running one more load and am hoping there won’t be much food this time so I can start washing my dishes in it! I am not used to having a dishwasher and I completely forgot I don’t have detergent for it yet!

      • Safe + clean = so important. I learned a lot from the first couple places I lived after college (like the shack I mentioned) about what to look for when searching for a new place to live. Glad you got some things fixed. Good luck with the dishwasher!

  3. Pingback: 2013 Year In Review | Debt Perception

  4. ok, I know this post is SO old, but I just found your blog the other night and started reading from the beginning. I just wanted to comment on this and tell you that I whooped for joy at this post after reading your others about the apartments – what a nightmare! It is always good to try to find places to live that are inexpensive, but not at the expense of your health – physical, emotional, and mental. I can’t even IMAGINE trying to deal with that landlord and how much anxiety that would cause. I don’t even know if you’re still at this new apartment (as it is over a year later!) but I felt I had to congratulate you. 🙂

    • Haha, I am still at that apartment, I love it and it’s the best complex I’ve ever lived at! Thank you and hope you’ll keep reading. 🙂 Things have slowed down a bit but I hope to get back to posting weekly rather than monthly!

Leave a Reply

