Mentor Angel

Most days I don’t answer calls I don’t recognize or that aren’t local.  Today, I received such a call and decided, what the heck.  It turned out to be Imerman Angels and I’m glad I answered!  Imerman Angels is a support network for cancer patients.  They connect cancer patients with survivors (mentor angels) with the same type of cancer and also provide similar services for caregivers.  It was founded in Chicago and I’m so glad it’s finally expanding across the country!  Spread the word to anyone you know who has been touched by cancer!

It took about a year before they could connect me with someone and I’m so happy to finally become a mentor angel!  This person lives in New Jersey and that’s not exactly local but it would be amazing to meet her one day if we click!

I guess I should provide a little background information for those not familiar with my story.  I’m a cancer survivor of almost 18 years!  When I was 9 I was diagnosed with a brain tumor.  Cancer and I had a pretty rough duel.  In the end, I was victorious!  I promise to go into greater detail in a future post.

Today is a most AWESOME day!

I decided to have a peanut butter and jelly sandwich for lunch and then I found out that today is National Peanut Butter and Jelly Day!  The stars are aligning folks!

Image from Dukky

Have a happy day!

5 thoughts on “Mentor Angel

  1. Pingback: My Cancer Story | Debt Perception

Leave a Reply

