#Tag: Getting to Know the Person Behind the Personal Finance Blog

First time I’m attempting one of these tag posts from Girl Meets Debt.

1) How did you come up with your blog name?

I was thinking of words that were similar or rhymed with debt…depth…depth perception…debt perception.  It’s actually one of the first things I thought of!

2) Which bloggers  inspired you when you first started writing?

Honestly, I hadn’t really read or followed any personal finance or getting out of debt blogs until after I started my own.  I was inspired to start my blog after seeing a counselor about dealing with stress and debt.  Blogging wasn’t her idea.  She had me imagine what I would do in life if money were no object and she observed the expressions on my face light up and then immediately fade away upon re-entering reality.  This was my inspiration to do everything I possibly could to alleviate the stress and debt from my life and I would blog about my progress.

3) Why write about finance?

Debt and finance is a HUGE part of my life.  Everything I do, every penny I make effects my debt and finances.

4a) What do you enjoy most about blogging?

Seeing my progress and knowing that a few people out there are reading (and commenting).  🙂

4b) What do you enjoy least about blogging?

Sometimes feeling like I’m talking to myself.

5) What’s the most helpful piece of advice you have learned from reading other PF blogs?

What seems impossible can be done!  Don’t stress over finances so much, you are not a loan!

6) In terms of finance, what is your main focus at the moment?

Getting out of debt.  That may seem kind of broad considering the amount of debt I’m in and the years I have ahead of me.  For 2013 I’m more focused on paying off all credit card debt and working on paying off my smallest co-signed student loan.

7) If you could give your younger self financial advice, what would it be?

Don’t go to a for-profit school like The Art Institutes!!!  Consider waiting to go to college until you are considered an independent to maximize your federal aid.  Work those years at different jobs to find something you enjoy doing.  Save money to pay for college out of pocket.  Take your time going through school to pay out of pocket and avoid taking out student loan debt.  AVOID STUDENT LOANS LIKE THE PLAGUE!  Never EVER get private student loans, especially ones you need a co-signer for!  If you have to take out loans, DO NOT borrow more than 1/3 of what you expect to make upon graduation…do research about grad employment statistics and find a school whose tuition prices are reasonable.

8) Who in your “real-life” knows about your blog?

Some of my friends and family who follow me on Facebook.

9) Does your real-life job have anything to do with finance or money?

Real-life job…hahaha.  That’s a big no considering I do not have a real-life job!

10) What’s the first thing you would do if you won a million dollars?

#1 PAY OFF MY DEBT!!  I should add that I would try to settle for less than I owe!  I’d also probably buy a newer used car and find somewhere nicer to live.  Maybe buy a house…if my husband stays in the Navy we’ll be moving around so it would eventually be a rental property.  Save the rest, invest.  See a reproductive endocrinologist and try to start a family!  I’d probably try to look into getting jaw surgery again too.  Oh, if I had a million dollars!  I’d still work…well, once I have a job again!

#tag, you’re it!

6 thoughts on “#Tag: Getting to Know the Person Behind the Personal Finance Blog

  1. You aren’t going in listened to–I find your blog honest and interesting. It reminds me of my younger days. And how very hard up they were.

  2. Pingback: Survivor’s Standouts: Group Projects Stink Edition » Student Debt Survivor

  3. Pingback: #Tag: Getting to Know the “Person” Behind the Personal Finance Blog | MoMoneyMoHouses

Leave a Reply

