Good Stuff!

My video was picked as a finalist for the Young Invincibles contest!  Please vote for my video (Kasey Oliver) once a day until Jan 11th!  I really want to win that $500 to put towards a student loan payment!  Please share this link and vote.  I know people don’t like adding apps on FB but you can remove it once the voting ends on Jan. 11th.  It’s safe, I promise!  Thank you!  Thank you!  Thank you!

Someone bid on the textbook I’m selling on ebay.  $10 so far and the auction ends in a few hours.  Considering I got the book for free, I’ll be happy with whatever I can get for it!

I have had 89 views so far today!  Most days it usually hovers around 20 or less!  I got a couple of new followers and a few comments.  I love comments, please leave me some!  It’s nice to know people are actually reading this!

I didn’t win the Sallie Mae $25,000 giveaway, unfortunately.  Maybe next time?

I could have sworn I made a $200 payment towards a credit card yesterday but nothing has gone through on either my card or my bank account.  Maybe I was dreaming?  If it doesn’t go through, I’ll just hold onto it until I make my larger payment next week.  I love updating my progress bar, even if the change is minuscule compared to my overall debt.

Moving

We paid January rent for a house we’ll be moving into.  The landlord planned to have it ready for a January 1st move in.  It’s now January 8th and still not done.  He’s been relying on friends and craigslist help that have repeatedly not shown up.  He’s done a lot of work for only having one functioning arm, but he’s going into surgery tomorrow and will be recovering for two weeks.  He finally contacted us this morning.  I guess he fell two days ago and has been resting.  There is still some work to be done.  He mentioned having a friend coming over to prime the bathroom walls and re-hang the medicine cabinet on Monday.  Hopefully everything is fully functioning because we’re moving tomorrow.  My husband goes back to work on Friday and we need to move before then.  He has an underway coming up shortly and it’s now or never.  The electricity and water will be turned on tomorrow.  Internet will be turned on sometime on Thursday.  We have 5 boxes packed as of now.  We don’t have a lot of stuff but there’s still quite a bit of packing to do tonight!

Overall, I’m feeling really good.  I’m excited about moving!  I feel like I needed to get the move out of the way before I really could focus on making extra money and getting to work on some of my resolutions.  I can’t wait!

5 thoughts on “Good Stuff!

  1. I have just discovered your blog from your comment on readingBLOGGING AWAY DEBT.i am so impressed by your honesty and thoughtfulness about yourself. The other blog is irritating–the writer has no wish to really work at paying down her debts and I can see her getting back into trouble any time.
    I have a work suggestion. Have you got transport? Have you considered putting your name in at Senior Centers, offering to do shopping, housework, rides to medical appointments, etc? I and my husband are in our 70s with dicey health and if we did not have each other and a very good friend (whom we pay for exactly these services) we would be in serious trouble.
    Anyway, I wish you so much good luck–stick in there and keep at it. You will succeed!

  2. Thanks for commenting! I hope you continue to follow my blog!. 🙂
    My husband and I currently share one vehicle but while he is out to sea (Navy) I would have the car to myself and would be able to offer assistance to seniors. I will definitely put my name in at Senior Centers. Thanks for the recommendation!

  3. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d certainly donate to this fantastic blog! I suppose for now i’ll settle for bookmarking and adding
    your RSS feed to my Google account. I look forward to new updates and will talk about this website with my Facebook group.
    Talk soon!

    • Though I do not yet have a donate button, if you click on the HOW YOU CAN HELP page, I provide an email address for anyone willing to “donate” (it has to be sent as a payment for legal reasons) via paypal. Thanks for commenting/following/talking about my blog! What is your Facebook group?

Leave a Reply

